NICP To Help Boost Countryside ICT Job Share

Countryside champions aims to capture fifty percent of the direct jobs from the additional 700,000 new jobs in information and communications technology (ICT) as targeted by the Philippine IT Roadmap 2022. 
This translates to about 350,000 new jobs outside of Metro Manila and going to the provinces. For about two decades, about seventy percent of the jobs in the sector are concentrated in Metro Manila.
The new set of officers of the National ICT Confederation of the Philippines (NICP), the umbrella organization of ICT councils representing regions, cities, and provinces in the countryside, convened recently to forge its directions for 2018 as its mark its tenth year of corporate existence in 2018.
Incoming president Antonio Del Carmen of the Laguna Industry Network for Knowledge, Innovation and Technology (LINK-IT)said the organizational goal of NICP this year is to develop a more conducive relationship with all industry associations especially those who are actively involved in human resource development and calibration.
Among them is a stronger positioning of provincial locations for global services to be fueled by more active ICT councils that clearly understand their roles and set their directions. NICP and its member councils shall work together to accelerate enabling conditions, such as infrastructure, government processes and business environment better and lobby for investors incentives especially in provincial areas, where high sense of business confidence must be in place.
Another important springboard to achieve the numbers for jobs in 2022 is to upgrade the talent ecosystem, pivoting to higher value skills and opportunities by working closely with the industry and education sector.
Other elected officers include Jocelle Batapa-Sigue of the Bacolod-Negros Occidental Federation for Information and Communications Technology (BNEFIT) as Vice president, Rosemarie Quinto-Rey of Albay ICT Association – Legazpi ICT Council as secretary, Rob Enriquez of Bataan ICT Council as treasurer and immediate past president Stephanie Caragos of Cagayan de Oro ICT Business Council as auditor.  
Efren Daniel De Leon of Bicol ICT Council, Wilfredo Sa-a, Jr. of Cebu IT-BPM Organization (CIB.O), ​Joanne Phillips of​ ​Bohol ICT Council, ​Michael Tiu-Lim of Zamboanga ICT Council and Roberto Tinsay of Malaybalay ICT Council complete the ten-men board for 2018.  
Atty. Jocelle Batapa-Sigue
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Founding NICP Members (Iligan 10)